Now if you Miss Leaving a Meeting, Google Meet will Remind you!

Google has added a new feature which will remind users to leave the meeting. Read along to know more about this feature.
google meet

Many times it has happened that you have attended the meeting and then forgot to exit a meeting leaving you alone in the digital room. Google has taken notice that sometimes people do forget to exit meetings and that the entire experience of being in the digital room alone can be a bit eerie. So now Google has added the new feature to Google Meet that will prompt users if they forget to leave a meeting. We hope that this feature will help prevent situations where your audio or video is unintentionally shared, Google wrote in a post explaining the rationale behind introducing this feature.

ALSO READ: Twitter Introduces The ‘Unmention’ Feature, Which Allows Users To Untag Oneself From Any Tweet | OyPrice

With the help of a blog post Google said that now whenever a user is the only person in a meeting for five minutes, they will receive a prompt asking whether they want to stay or leave the meeting and if the user does not respond after two minutes Google Meet will automatically cut the meeting. 

The company also claimed that this feature will be turned on by default for its users. Users will also get the option to disable this feature manually. In order to manually disable this feature, follow the steps mentioned below:

google meet new feature

On laptop: 

  • Present on the bottom bar tap on the more options. 
  • Tap on more options.
  • Now go to settings. 
  • Open general.
  • Now toggle off the leave empty calls button. 

ALSO READ: Meta Is Rumored To Be Working On A Virtual Currency Called ‘Zuck Bucks.’ | OyPrice

On iPhone and iPad: 

  • Open the Google Meet App.
  • Before Joining a Meet.
  • Tap on the menu.
  • Present on the top left corner tap on Settings.
  • Select the account you want to switch off the settings on.
  • Toggle off Leave Empty Calls option.

As far as availability is concerned, Google said that it has started rolling out this feature to all Google Workspace customers, legacy G Suite Basic, business customers and users with personal Google accounts on desktop and iOS devices and they will start getting these prompts later in this month. For Android users, the company said that the feature will arrive on Android devices soon.

However, Google didn’t share the exact timeline of launch. These features are rolling out to all Workspace, G Suite Basic and Business, and personal Google accounts starting April 11th. It may take up to fifteen days for all users to see these changes. The ability to easily share screens and join — or leave — meetings at the right time should make leading and attending meetings much more efficient.

ALSO READ: The New Google Docs Feature Allows Users To Share Feedback Through Emojis | OyPrice

Join us on TelegramFacebook, or Twitter and stay up to date with the latest happenings in the tech industry.

Total
0
Shares
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Posts